Stihl 046 Dies When Given Throttle

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ilinimud

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all, I bought a Stihl 046 Magnum locally from a small engine guy kinda cheap, so assumed it would have some issues, and it does. I am brand new to taking apart and fixing saws, but so far i am really enjoying it. Hopefully some of you can help me with what i have going on.

Previous owner told me he had been using the saw a while, so he put new piston and rings in the saw for the sale of it, also a new muffler. When i got the saw it would rev very high but would eventually chill out, and run better. I attempted to tune it one day (with a tach), and things got worse. Upon looking over everything i shone a light in at the impulse line, and it was disconnected at the motor. I thought i had found the fix. Nope. After i reattached that i set the carb back to recommended settings, and started it up. It started great, as always, and didn't try to rev high and spin the chain like it was, BUT when i hit the throttle it dies. Every time. I then have to re choke it to get it to start, then once throttle is applied - dead. So i thought it has to be the fuel lines or carb, and i need to build up some parts i thought, so i ordered a new carb too. Slapped those puppies on there. No change.