Stihl 088 woods porting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flavien Simon

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I recently bought an used Stihl 088, that I plan to use for milling and falling the trees I will mill. I will probably mostly mill hardwoods, between 2 and 3ft in diameter for my woodworking projects.

After considering asking someone to port it (but it doesn't seem to be done a lot in Europe), watching a lot of videos on Youtube and reading many threads on this forum, I decided to have a try myself. I have no experience about this or tuning motors in general, I only muffler modded my MS261.

It may look risky, but as an engineer who likes experimenting with things I must say I am as much excited by this projet that by my milling plans !

I start this thread and I intend to post some updates about my work and my findings along the way, as it may have an interest to others beginners as myself, and I would gladly accept some advice too. It will also force me to document what I do.

I will start by writing down what I found about my 088 stock condition.

The engine is 121.6 cm3 with a 60mm bore.

Muffler :
Stock muffler on the european version I have looks like a joke regarding the port opening. It consists on a scrwed on plate on a side, with a tube that must measure around 10mm in diameter. I have no precise measurement as I disposed of it almost immediately, but the openning area looked it was even less than 20% of the exhaust port area.

Otherwise, it looks easy with this cast aluminium muffler to design a custom outlet, and simply screw it in place of the stock outlet.

Stock port timings :
I printed myslef a degree wheel and mesured the following :
  • Exhaust : opens at 99,5°
  • Transfers : opens at 119° so blowdown is around 20°
  • Intake : opens at 65°