Stihl 500i Wood Chips Discharge When Felling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StihlsawuserMS361

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to my Stihl 500i chainsaw, and the jury is still out with its performance and quirks. (I have a MS361 also, and I know they are two different animals) My question to all is the wood chip discharge when felling trees, notably trees with the diameter in excess of 20". It's overwhelming to the point of being obnoxious. Like taking a shower in the discharge chips. (Bucking is fine, usually I can sidestep this.) Anyone else experiencing the same? Other than replacing the chain cover with a West Coast offering, has anyone modified their OEM cover / chip deflector? Any suggestions guys? Thanks to all!

I'm relatively new to my Stihl 500i chainsaw, and the jury is still out with its performance and quirks. (I have a MS361 also, and I know they are two different animals) My question to all is the wood chip discharge when felling trees, notably trees with the diameter in excess of 20". It's overwhelming to the point of being obnoxious. Like taking a shower in the discharge chips. (Bucking is fine, usually I can sidestep this.) Anyone else experiencing the same? Other than replacing the chain cover with a West Coast offering, has anyone modified their OEM cover / chip deflector? Any suggestions guys? Thanks to all!
I tried cutting up the hd-style 440/460/660 clutch cover but ended up with the WCS cover.

I recommend it and the max flow.
20221017_174424.jpg

500i is so ******* it needs all the help it can get who cares if the wcs cover flows chips better

I was hoping to fabricate something to the existing cover rather than the expense of buying an aftermarket cover. The saw was expensive enough without that added cost.