Stihl MS 250 shutting down

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NuclearNick

ArboristSite Lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been using an MS 250 for about 10 years for limbing, etc and it's been very reliable. Went out to use it today (haven't run it in about 2 months) and it starts just fine but dies off after I run it for a few minutes, usually when I get done with a cut and let off the throttle. Hard to start after it dies - have to put it in full choke and give it a pull, then starts after a few pulls in half choke. Drained gas that was a few months old, put in new gas. Replaced air filter with new air filter, same problem. I haven't attempted any surgery yet. Willing to pull this thing apart, but don't want to do so randomly.

Any sharp Stihl mechanics out there with ideas what might be causing this? It's been a good little saw and I'd like to keep it running a few more years.

Thanks!

Hello all,

I've been using an MS 250 for about 10 years for limbing, etc and it's been very reliable. Went out to use it today (haven't run it in about 2 months) and it starts just fine but dies off after I run it for a few minutes, usually when I get done with a cut and let off the throttle. Hard to start after it dies - have to put it in full choke and give it a pull, then starts after a few pulls in half choke. Drained gas that was a few months old, put in new gas. Replaced air filter with new air filter, same problem. I haven't attempted any surgery yet. Willing to pull this thing apart, but don't want to do so randomly.

Any sharp Stihl mechanics out there with ideas what might be causing this? It's been a good little saw and I'd like to keep it running a few more years.

Thanks!