Stihl MS 391cylinder scoring

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimmyjam

Reaction score
Hello all, I have been milling with the ms 391 for the past year and just recently had it fail. It will start go straight to high idle then shut off after about 10 seconds. I have had it for a little for less then a year and I'm being told by the dealer the warranty is void due to the description given by their service dept. As they say it shows signs dirt has passed the air filter and damaged the cylinder. I have been religious about cleaning the saw after each use and also changing the air filter. Either way this is where I'm at. They told me repair and parts would cost approximately $800 which is almost $200 more than what I paid. Hoping to get some advice or direction. I've been milling for several years and never had an issue like this, I have worked on my saws on some minor issues but nothing like replacing the cylinder or piston. The final description is scoring on cylinder and piston. Any advice or video links is much appreciated. From what I've found this sounds to be a common problem with this saw. Thanks