Stihl MS192 TC Bogs/Stalls when Cold

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Alright, attempted to retune the saw again yesterday and had some interesting results. I'm not really sure what to make of this, because following the manual's instructions had the saw bogging every time I pressed the throttle. Only after noodling with the L jet by little increments was I able to get the saw to rev. After that I adjusted the H jet and was able to hit ~13,500 RPM, with decent responsiveness. After that, the saw actually seemed surprisingly normal! I can't help but feel like it's still slightly under-powered, but again, I might just be subconsciously comparing it to my 372XP, which is about 4x as much horsepower. I've attached a little test-cut video I uploaded, sorry about the bad framing - I'm not very good at this. The close-up was supposed to show the tach numbers, which were hitting 13,300-13,600 highs and ~3k on lows. Seems to be pretty stable, but the jury is still out until next time I start it cold Does anyone think this seems bad/slow for a cut this size?

After I ran the saw for about 5-10 minutes, I could see more smoke occasionally on the muffler. Looking more closely at the saw, I noticed pooling oil on the bar cover, just above the muffler. Anyone have any idea why it would be kicking oil back here? I feel like something is amiss, but I'm not really sure where to start trouble-shooting this one. See picture near where my finger is pointing. Earlier on, there was a bit of a pool forming around that area, and near the top holes of the mesh:

192TC_BarOil01.jpg

It sounds too lean on the H needle, try aiming for 13k or 12800 rpm so that it slightly fuel bogs until you start cutting with it. Sharpen the chain, they make little dogs for them. They seem to really shine with a 12" bar