Stihl MS311 Ignition Module

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kierant

Reaction score
Hi Guys, greetings from the South Coast of the South Island, New Zealand I'm a newbie here, so treat me gently!! I have a Stihl MS311 that wouldn't start. No spark. Changed the spark plug & checked the wiring, still no go. Diagnosed a faulty Ignition module. Sourced a replacement off the internet. Can now get the saw to start & run OK, but starting it is a real pain. Seems that the timing is wrong, firing too early, starter rope is being snatched back. Like I say it will start eventually & run ok, but obviously something is wrong. Will the wrong ignition module cause this? Or has anyone got any thoughts?
Module supplied was Parts#1140 400 1303/1140 1305 B × 1
Cheers
Kierant

Aahh, I've just figured out what you mean by chi AM. Chinese after-market, I think. Yes it was. The local Stihl shop tried to charge me NZ$242 (US$159) for one, which I thought was a bit over the top!

Chinese stuff is kind of hit or miss on some parts. I've not had any trouble with their carburetors but their ignition modules are something else! You can usually send the parts back and get a refund and try another vendor..