Things I learned this week

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been messing around with small engines for 55+ years and have been pretty serious about working on chainsaws 14 or 15 years. So, when a saw comes in with a problem I usually start looking at the more complicated solutions. If there is a fuel delivery problem I normally attack the carburetor after have a quick look and the fuel line and impulse line when they have one. My tree service friend dropped off an MS880 that would act like it was running out of fuel at WOT, idle was fine. So naturally I looked at the fuel and impulse lines (both had been recently replaced, and decided I needed to pull the carburetor for a complete inspection. Everything looked good so all I could think of was raising the metering lever a bit. Carburetor still held pressure so I gave it a go with no significant improvement. Finally I replaced the fuel filter (even though the fuel filter and fuel line were part of a complete rebuild within the past year) and the problems was instantly resolved.