Thinking of a taller wedge for a Super Splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fireheart

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I got my Super Splitter a couple of weeks ago and so far WOW!
I've been cutting and splitting for 30 years with a hydraulic 27 ton from tractor supply. Never found anything it couldn't split.
The last storm felled a tree right on my log splitter and that was the end of that. I had been looking and reading about Super Splitter, and this was the opportunity to change horses.
The top of my pile has some green oak, 23-24" rounds I bucked up. It's a bear and gets stuck on the wedge trying to nip pieces off. I have the HD model with 90 lb wheels. The split in the round is as tall as the wedge and must be pushed through with another piece of wood, but still it's apt to get stuck on the wedge. The wedge itself is 6" H x 4.5" W x 3/4" T.
I'd like to just add another just like this one welded right onto the top, but I'm not getting a good feeling about that, maybe too much stress on the I beam?
I'm thinking someone here knows more about log splitters than I do and it would be a kind share to send some knowledge my way. Thanks in advanceI

Attachments

• unnamed-1.jpg
    unnamed-1.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
  • unnamed.jpg
    unnamed.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
Just need to make sure it's attached well enough and or add a back brace to tie it into the beam. Ripped a few off my splitter before I decided to reinforce the entire wedge to the beam. No problems after that.

Just need to make sure it's attached well enough and or add a back brace to tie it into the beam. Ripped a few off my splitter before I decided to reinforce the entire wedge to the beam. No problems after that.
Well Done!

Yes. Changing from a box store hydraulic splitter to a SuperSplit is an enormous grin popping shift.