Tree that blunts chainsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skippydiesel

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to this Forum - I have been using chain saws since the 1970"s - No expert but can get the job done.

Yesterday, went to cutdown a fire "killed" tree for fire wood. Tree dead, may be 4 years. No idea what sort of tree.

Son & I doing the job, with 3 chain saws, all sharpened by me. When cutting dry timber, for fire, we usually expect about 3 hrs +/- before a change to a freshly sharpened chain.

Son doing the felling - complained that saw going blunt fast. Got the tree down and we both started to "break it up". Small branches - no problem.

Got to main trunk - lucky if we managed 4 cuts each before changing chains - same deal on fresh chains.

Anyone with a suggestion;
  • As to what sort of tree?
  • Suitable chain to finish the job, without having to change chains every 4 cuts of main trunk?

Is the tree in a flood plain? If so it may be loaded with silt. Semi-chisel chain will hold an edge longer than square ground or round filed chisel for dirty wood. Try 20 or 25 degrees rather than 30 or 35 degrees for a top plate angle, won't be quite as fast but will hold an edge longer. You can also try on size larger file to reduce the hook (side plate angle) a bit, again it will cut slower but will hold an edge longer.

Mark

Hi All,

I am new to this Forum - I have been using chain saws since the 1970"s - No expert but can get the job done.

Yesterday, went to cutdown a fire "killed" tree for fire wood. Tree dead, may be 4 years. No idea what sort of tree.

Son & I doing the job, with 3 chain saws, all sharpened by me. When cutting dry timber, for fire, we usually expect about 3 hrs +/- before a change to a freshly sharpened chain.