TS420 Project Cutoff Saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Automender

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I picked up a Stihl TS420 saw for $50 and wanted to try to refurbish it. This is my first time to completely rebuild a saw. I have installed new rings in a Husky K970 cutoff saw and rebuilding the carb. I have no history on this saw nor why it failed other than the person said it was a top end issue. I decided to strip the saw down the other day and found two thing I could use some advice on. On the strip down I found play in the crank bearings and what looks like pieces of bearing cages in the crankcase. So those need to be replaced but the rod bearings do not have any play up or down and back and forth. The rod however rocks side to side and I am not talking the normal sliding side to side. I am thinking this needs to be replace due to the rocking motion but wonder why no vertical play.
Second issue is that the piston looks pretty good and likewise the cylinder looks good compared to You tube videos on failed saws. However the piston top looks like it has some erosion on the top. What causes this type of damage?IMG_4207.jpg
View attachment IMG_4221 (1).MOVIMG_4212.jpgIMG_4215.jpgIMG_4214.jpgIMG_4224.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_4215.jpg
    IMG_4215.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 18
I'm no expert but looks like detonation issues to me. Especially due to the fact it's around the outer perimeter of piston where the flame front meets cylinder wall. The carbon doesn't look heavy enough to cause early ignition issues//pre ignition. Looks as poor fuel/ mix issues looking at bottom end dryness, contaminants, and known bearing failure. To me that rod bearing is toast no matter if the cage is intact or not. Again, more knowledgeable guys are on here.