Vermont Downdrafter not UL cert

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woody Longbranch

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
After living in Vermont for 15 years and burning only wood for heat I moved to small city in Massachusetts and I got a decent large free wood stove.
I climb trees for a living so I get a lot of free wood. The neighbor started to complain about the smell of the
wood in the neighborhood and called the building inspector.
to make a long story short after satisfying the code for the height of the chimney and double insulated asbestos chimney pipe and a non flammable surface and wall penetration we're still going to court because the building inspector says he'll never approve a permit( which is required in this municipality) because the wood stove does not have the UL tag. Many used stoves that you purchase are older and don't have a UL tag it's only a recent within the last 15 year requirement.
my question is does anybody know when alternate method the override the building inspector for instance can you get your wood stove certified by an independent engineer or some type of State Fire Marshal this is in Massachusetts so if anybody's had this experience and has a comment is greatly appreciated in the long run I continue to burn wood without an approved permit I just got out of jail for murder and running a wood stove without a permit is nothing to me thank you very much

Mister Friendly
ps just kidding it was manslaughter20181204_210640.jpg

Can you call the company and ask them to send you it's UL listing?
I would tell the neighbor and the inspector where they both can go but then again I wouldn't live where a bitchy neighbor is a concern.

I would tell the neighbor and the inspector where they both can go but then again I wouldn't live where a bitchy neighbor is a concern.