Welding a log splitter piston

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karrl

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Has anyone successfully welded the end back on a log splitter piston. Through a combination of a sloppy pushblock and someone trying to split something they shouldn’t have we have ended up with the end broken off. I’m guessing it can’t be welded properly because of hardening and heat treating but I’m not an expert. Anyone know any good places to buy a replacement piston? It needs a seal kit either way so taking it apart first is an option.

I have shortened three cylinders and welded the rear cap back on. The caps had to be carefully removed to retain the shoulder that inserts into the barrel. Also kept a wet rag on the cylinder to attempt to protect the chromed inside of the cylinder from the welding heat. None have failed.

Has anyone successfully welded the end back on a log splitter piston. Through a combination of a sloppy pushblock and someone trying to split something they shouldn’t have we have ended up with the end broken off. I’m guessing it can’t be welded properly because of hardening and heat treating but I’m not an expert. Anyone know any good places to buy a replacement piston? It needs a seal kit either way so taking it apart first is an option.
Are you trying to say the end of the cyl barrel or the actual piston itself. I doubt you will weld the piston. It has to be a exact size and is a machined part. Welding with out benefit of a lathe just wouldnt work. If you are talking about rewelding the end back on the barrel, that is something a competent welder should be able to do.