What chipper did I buy? Help Please?!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BackWoodsHunter

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys I was wondering if I could get some answers, based on pictures, what type of chipper I bought? The guy thought it was an older vermeer but was unsure. It runs great, and despite crappy knives, it chips like a beast. I have been working as an arborist for a few years now and I am making the step towards working independently. Buying this chipper was the first step. I got a good deal on it but it needs some maintenance and updating but I can't find any sort of identification card on it anywhere to start ordering parts. There is one plate on top of the door to access the drum and it just has a few random numbers on it. Its definitely of the "chuck n duck" variety but I started searching google images and theres a lot of different chippers out there that all look similar but no two look the same. Here is what I do know about it. It has the ford 300 6 cylinder engine, and it appears to be all belt driven. No feed wheels or anything like that.

20140322_131531.jpg 20140322_131544.jpg 20140322_131558.jpg 20140322_131652.jpg 20140322_131531.jpg 20140322_131544.jpg 20140322_131558.jpg 20140322_131652.jpg 20140322_131636.jpg 20140322_131531.jpg 20140322_131544.jpg

Looks like an older version of a woodchuck I just bought. What parts are you looking for? Engine parts you can buy at the local parts store, look under 1970's f100 and select the 4.9l six cylinder. The knives are ordered based on length. I just got mine running today so I'm still learning the ins and outs.