Why I Keep Going BACK To the 70cc - 20inch B&C Concept.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weimedog

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Kicked this subject to death over the last couple of video's, but this was the "summary" AND to the OCD type left a few things in the video USUALLY trimmed out. ONE of the reasons NOT articulated on the "light & small" concept can be a life saver as most NOT seeing things from above & trying to move out the escape path will move slower with a big saw.

I’ve been loving the 500i with a 20” light bar. Recently picked up a 25” light to compliment it. Most will say the 500i is pointless with the 20” bar as an ms400 could pull a 20 just as hard and fast. I’m not an engineer so I don’t know if that’s true. Oh well.

I turned 62 this year and although I love to get out the big saws and let them eat, my preference these days are saws in the 50-55 cc range. If you stick with good ones, those that like high RPM's and plenty of power you'll get a LOT of wood cut in a hurry. When you get into bigger logs break out bigger saws. Since most of what I cut here are tops left over from logging operations my smaller saws see the most use and my body thanks me for it!.........

With my background being east coast pulpwood with heavy Swedish influence, even a 20 is huge. My go to is 45-55cc, 15 or 16" bar. Love my ported 026, my 133 chassis Huskies and my 254.
Locally here on NW Ontario even though it was cut and skid, there was still heavy European influence in the lumber camps, pretty much the "standard" setup was a 162 chassis Husky with a 16 and an 8 pin, and nostalgia keeps that setup very popular. My dealer doesn't even stock anything bigger than 18".
That said I have a 20 on my 61/272 build currently and I have one for my Stihl's, and it is definitely something I can live with on a bigger saw.