Will these videos make me safer with a chainsaw?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

klaus von herten

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Just a homeowner here cutting a couple of cords per year of small local mesquite, juniper and palo verde (Arizona) but I’ve acquired some wooded areas back east with 40 foot white ash that I’m preparing to cut if I have to.

I have a Husky 450 Rancher, just got a Stihl MS261C and am looking to get a Husky 372XP and an MS461 if I can find one.

My dad used to fell tall oak and maple with his 1970s era Mac with almost no regard to safety, but with a ton of luck, and never killed himself. Cutting trees on steep hills, straight cuts no hinge, I have no idea how he was able to fell and buck those trees without tragedy, but he managed to do it. Never taught me how to cut down trees and I’ve been self taught from videos and cutting up firewood.

I am a much more cautious fellow, and I don’t think I had the kind of luck that my dad did, therefore, I try to get reasonably prepared for things. I stumbled across some Canadian provincial government videos, about 3 hours’ worth.

I know it won’t make me a pro, but would it make my survival odds much higher?

If these videos aren’t good, what do you recommend to get a homeowner up to speed to safely fell and buck larger trees?

Thanks for your expertise, be well gents.

Okay I’ll check those out. Many thanks!

My nightmare scenario is a diseased tree that barber chairs.

I found the video below a bit hair raising for the man involved, but they gave me some more familiarity with the barber chair effect.

I've seen some barber chair videos on YT that'll make your hair stand on end...great big west coast trees that chair and come unglued like bunker busters... Yikes!

Yeah, I found those BC falling standard videos to be helpful, too.