3/8 lo pro and 3/8 sprocket differences?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B_Turner

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I am fairly new to the 3/8 lo pro thing. I know it's been discussed, but I can't remember the answer.

Is 3/8 lo pro actually .365? Can I run 3/8 lo pro chain on a 3/8 sprocket?

Or 3/8 regular on a sprocket that came with lp originally?

I wouldn't mix them. Here is a pretty good thread on the issue.
http://www.arboristsite.com/showthread.php?t=39384&highlight=3/8+low+pro+full+size

I still come away a little befuddled. I can see not mixing the bars andbar sprockets between them, but the difference when it comes to drum sprocket vs floating rim is not quite clear to me.

I need to compare each chain on each of those sprockets and really look at how the tang fits each. Maybe then I'll understand a little better.

One reason I am thinking about comparing is that then I can compare cutting speed between certain small saws of mine using the same lp chain.

I wouldn't mix them. Here is a pretty good thread on the issue.
http://www.arboristsite.com/showthread.php?t=39384&highlight=3/8+low+pro+full+size
Ray,

That is a confusing thread, they are talking about 3/8, 3/8 lp, and 3/8 picco.

It was my understanding that picco is it's own beast, and because of such it does make sense that the tang is different on the chain, but doesn't regular 3/8 and 3/8 LP have the same tang on them?

Mathematically, the chain and sprocket/rim have to be the same, or it couldn't be 3/8" pitch. However, a different tang as on the picco chain, would render it a red headed step child.

I thought Picco was a Stihl-exclusive term for 3/8 LP. :confused:

One of my saws came with a LP chain on a 3/8 bar. Granted, it was a .058 bar, but that was the only mismatch. It operated just fine. Just bought a 3/8 .058 chain to replace it.