Bandit 1250 chipper feed problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stick

Reaction score
I have a Bandit 1250 chipper with a 200hp Cummins. It seems to me that the feed wheels lack power. I also have to crank up the RPMs before I have any hydraulics. I'm new to chippers, so I don't know what to expect. How do I determine if the feed motors are shot or if the hydraulic pump is shot? I have no hydraulics at all until I get the rpms up to 2000. This makes me think I need a new pump, but I don't know if worn feed motors would cause the same symptoms.

Also, where can I find a maintenance/repair manual for this machine. I called Bandit Industries, but all they could give me was a operators manual (more of a safety manual). It was no help for maintenance. I would like to find a manual on how to trouble shoot the hydraulics, the autofeed system, etc.

Im not real experanced with Hyd. feed chippers. But have worked on many bucket trucks. The first thing I would do is change the Hyd. fluid filter.It does sound like the pump. But you have to figure out what caused it to go bad.The fluid might be to thick. But being in Va, I would not think the fluid is getting to thick. It just sounds like its a pressuse problem. Start with the filter. ?

Why not call the service department of the local Bandit dealer. You ought to be able to describe the symptoms to them and get a general diagnosis. For all you know, the system may need to run at a high RPM in order to bring up pressure and volume.

If they can't help, contact a hydraulic repair facility. Their techs are probably more skilled than the Bandit techs. That's my experience.

Have you checked fluid level? Changing filters is always good base line maintenance. The fluid should be fine. I've never had a problem with fluid viscosity in even twnety below zero Minnesota weather. I just let things warm up thoroughly first.