Makita / Dolmar 7900 Piston and Cylinder Install w/ PICS!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stock50s

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I installed the 7900 p/c today on my Home Depot Makita! I thought it would be worthwhile to post up some pics and give a few tips that my help a first timer. First off I want to start by saying that I am NOT a chainsaw mechanic nor do I claim to be one. If anyone has anything to add or feels I did something incorrectly, please post up the correct way or any tips that would make it easier on the next guy. Thank you.

To start off, remove both top covers and the handle as it will just get in the way. Before going any farther, blow off any dirt and grime around the carburetor, cylinder and exhaust.

chainsaw2002.jpg

The next step is to detach the exhaust and carb. The exhaust is self explanatory but the carb can be a little tricky. To remove the carb, this rubber plate has to be removed to gain access to the screws.

chainsaw2006.jpg

Once the carb is unscrewed and the impulse line is disconnected the cylinder can come off. This next step is not 100% necessary unless you need to reposition or trim the limiting cap but it will make reassembly easier. The intake manifold is mounted to the saw with a plastic ball and rubber socket. Simply pull up on the intake manifold and the ball will pop out of the socket. Now the carb is free... well sort of, disconnect the throttle cable and choke linkage.

chainsaw2007.jpg

Now on to the cylinder, break all 4 screws loose (I like to use an “X” pattern) then remove them. Now the cylinder can be carefully removed. If the cylinder does not move, GENTLY tap it a dead blow hammer or rubber mallet.

chainsaw2008.jpg

chainsaw2009.jpg