New chain.....Dolmar 6100

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tree_Frog

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Needing a second and third chain for my year old Dolmar 6100. What would you all recommend? I'm NOT looking for a safety type chain. Primarily cut variants of oak, elm, and pine. Live in northwest Arkansas.

I've had really good results with WoodlandPro 30SC (wemi-chisel) from Bailey's.

Also Frawley's will give you a good deal, and quick response, on Oregon. www dot loggerchain dot com

Best thing is to buy a couple of different brands (e.g. Oregon and Carlton), or a couple of different types (e.g. full chisel and semi-chisel), and try them side-by-side on your saw and your wood, to see what works best for you. If you don't notice much of a difference, you can buy the ones that you get the best deal on next time.

Philbert

I don't mean to sound like a complete noob, but does anyone have part #'s for a 3/8 20" chain for my 6100?

I like Stihl RS full chisel and RM semi chisel. Seem to last longer. How do you like your 6100? I've been thinking about one to go with the 562 and 361.

Whatever came stock on a 20" bar.
What I am trying to say, is that "20 inch bar" could mean a lot of things.

That's why loops are specified by pitch, gauge, and drive link count. This info may be printed on, or stamped into your bar.

Otherwise, tell us the brand of the chain, and any numbers stamped on the drive links.

Philbert

Anyone else? A buddy recommended Carlton chains.