ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Stihl 026 Starting Problems

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by jamie101, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. jamie101

    jamie101 ArboristSite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
    Hi, I have been stripping saws and rebuilding them for a few years now, usually 08s and the 021 023 025 range and selling them through the local paper. I was given a 026 in px just after christmas and the guy said it would not start, it took me about 30 pulls to get it going, then once warm it would start first pull every time. next day it did exactly the same 30 pulls then ran all day. I decided to strip it and rebuild, all inpulse hose, fuel line, inlet manifold look fine, piston and cylinder are in great shape, re-built it with new gasket set, and new crank seals. Now fully rebuilt and my hopes high filled with petrol and low and behold the same thing 20 pulls to get it going. I am used to 2 pulls on full choke than 1 pull on half choke and the saw is running. Does any one have any ideas as i am knocking on a bit and the arms cant take it any more.
     
  2. scotclayshooter

    scotclayshooter Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Scotland
    Try richening up the L even an 1/8 to 1/4 turn out seems to make a huge difference!
    Welcome to AS!
     
  3. mountainlake

    mountainlake Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    minnesota
    + 1 and if that doesn't work try 1/2 turn out. Chokes don't work good when adjuster to lean. Steve
     
  4. PES+

    PES+ Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Vermont/Canada border
    Make sure your choke plate in the air filter is closing completely

    Those chokes like to screw up
     
  5. kevin j

    kevin j Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Minnesota
    not sure if this is possible, but can the fuel line pull fuel back out of the carb when stored?

    Had that on a small engine with tank below pump/carb. fine air leak, or might have been pump checks leaking. that was an engine with separate pulse pump from the carb though...
     
  6. mountainlake

    mountainlake Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    minnesota
    +1 again, seems like there are a lot of hard starting 026 260 saws. Steve
     
  7. West Texas

    West Texas AboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Fort Davis
    I've had carbs in the 026 that take as much as a turn and a half on the L jet to start and idle properly.

    I work on so many of these saws that I keep extra carbs on hand; and, when I encounter the problem you have, I just pop in another carb, to quickly eliminate that as a problem. Saves lots of time. If this works, then you can try a repair kit; and, sometimes that doesn't work. Then soak it over night in carb cleaner and if that doesn't work, then I donate it to the 'round file'. :cheers:
     
  8. Lakeside53

    Lakeside53 Stihl Wrenching

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    24,817
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Woodinville, WA
    AS West Tex suggests - try another carb. If that doen't help -a full pressure and vac test is in order. if you need another carb, pm Bcorradi - I believe he has some..



    One thing though - once the saw is started, does it run correctly? If it runs, accelerates and idles well (set L a 1/4 turn richer than peak, then turn up LA slightly to compensate), there's nothing wrong with your carb. If your L is exssessive rich for decent idle and accelarate, that's an idicator of an airleak.
     
  9. jamie101

    jamie101 ArboristSite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
    I have tried adjusting the carb, no luck. I believe there are parts missing from the air filter. The air filter splits in half and there is a hole at one end that is near a lever on the control rod, on/off mechanism. when you put full choke on, this lever points up and looks like it should move something.
     
  10. Dan Forsh

    Dan Forsh Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    463
    Location:
    uk
    I think the choke flap is an integral part of the air filter on that one. The lever you're talking about should act on the choke flap. Are you missing this then?
     
  11. PES+

    PES+ Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Vermont/Canada border
    The choke flap is missing then...you need another filter
     
  12. Dan Forsh

    Dan Forsh Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    463
    Location:
    uk
    see it on here

    [​IMG]
     
  13. jamie101

    jamie101 ArboristSite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
    Many thanks to you all, I am missing the choke shutter. A new one of these and this should be the end of my problem.
    Many thanks again.
     
  14. Lakeside53

    Lakeside53 Stihl Wrenching

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    24,817
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Woodinville, WA
    or just the choke flap...
     
  15. jamie101

    jamie101 ArboristSite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
    New complete filter fitted today, saw fired up like a good un and runs spot on.
    Many thanks again.
     

Share This Page