Stihl pro vs non-pro? What's the difference?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

airdriver100

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to this and curious what the difference is between a "pro" model and a non-pro. For instance this morning there is a Stihl 026 Pro for sale on ebay that is getting much higher bids than a regular 026 might. (Item number: 290379299843)

My real interest is in the 361. Is PRO part of the name Stihl put on it?

Curious! TIA for the info....:monkey:

Stihl 032
Stihl 009
Husky 359

The 361 is a pro saw although it doesn't have a sticker on it that says pro. They pretty much all have the same features. With exception to an extra chain brake on the tank handle. The 361 C-Q.

"Pro" used on the badge of the Stihl was my real question.

I understand that pro saws generally are better, but if Stihl labels a saw "PRO," other than the adjustable oil valve and decomp, are there other differences? ie lighter? more powerful? different crank? piston? exhaust? etc?

On the 361 I can see more power per pound, a major plus, and it has been said it is easier to work on than other saws close to it's size that are not designed for pros.

I appreciate your info!:monkey:

On the 026 - MS260 the difference in the saws is the adjustable oiler and the decompression valve. I have the standard version of the MS260 and it is a professional grade saw - and for me the adjustable oiler and decompression valve are not necessary and did not justify the additional expense.