What should compression on 026 Stihl be?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BIG

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I have an 026 Pro that I am curious about the compression on. I have a "good" screw-in gage to check it with but wonder the correct way to check it. Should the saw be cold or up the operating temp? Should I hold the throttle wide open or not? What should the compression be on this saw? I am new to all this and need help/suggestions. Thanks.

try cold and warm

Hi,
so far i know:
Choke in, full thotle,pull stong.
Compare the Test in Cold and in warm. When the piston is warm, compression is better because it is bigger.
You could still have starting/compression problems because of low compression in cold.
Camel

@bwalker

@ walker
Hmmmm.....I had a 026, had good compression when warm, terrible strart-Problems because of bad Rings when cold.
New Rings leads to good Comp in cold and warm(in my case)...
So far im my 026...must not be in every saw.

Camel

compression

Grab starter handle and pick up saw with it. Rope shpuld not pull out of saw or come out VERY slowly. I have never seen any specs for compression pressure on a Stihl, this is the way I check all my saws. Has not failed yet.

This surprises me