031 Ignition Problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stihl031

Reaction score
Hey guys, Newbie here at this site.

I've got five 031's that have various problems. I got them about 6-8 years ago at an auction. I had one 031 that I just loved, and thought more's better. Then I found out that most of the ignition parts for these saws are obsolete. I read through a few of the posts on this forum and learned alot about the saw, but most of the posts were a few years old. What I need to know is can coils still be gotten for these saws, how do you test a coil, and how do the modules know when to fire, and can the modules still be gotten. Basically, most of my saws have no fire for one reason or another. Where can I buy a new set of points and condenser reasonably priced? I think I may have given too much for these saws.

Jim

Be careful with 031's when changing from points to electronic. EITHER, you need a flywheel from the electronic version, OR, you take out the key and position the flywheel in the position the electronic flywheel would have been positioned. You don't need the key for anti-rotation - that's achieved by the taper which must be throughly degreased and torqued down to the correct value.

If you don't do this, they will run, but at full power (for a while) the muffler will start to glow cherry red...

Modules fire based on the rise in voltage from the coil as it approaches TDC. Very simple, which is why they are so cheap.

BTW, you can still get parts for the 031 ignition, but a Condensor (common problem) is over $25 list and a pain to replace.

I can put you in contact with a guy that has coils (unlikely cause of your problems). Send me a PM.