359 E-Tech - 14000RPM to high/lean?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HickoryNick

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Howdy yall. I know I know, long time no post. Been busy with a zillion other things. My hobbies switch season to season, so I'm back around to sawin.

Yup, I used the search feature and was unable to find the answer I was looking fer.

Would you consider 14,000 RPM on the Husky 359 E-Tech to be to high? I've ran about 10 tank fulls through the saw before I decided to tune it up from factory break-in/rich setting. I decided to let a husky shop do it seeing as I'd rather let someone with experience show me how it's done. He did it by ear and then tached it and it was about 14,000. Seemed a little high to me, do ya think it may be leaned out too much?

Hope everyone has been doing well!

Thanks,
HickoryNick

Nick,

I'm no expert but I do have a 359 (now with out the cat!) and I'm set at 13500 which is the book spec.

Jeff

A bit high id say, but if you ditch the e-tech muffler it should be okay...

SawTroll said:
Specs call for max 13500 rpm, regardless if it is an e-tech, or not.

im sure you are right but afaik the max rpm is +/- 1000 rpm...

blis said:
im sure you are right but afaik the max rpm is +/- 1000 rpm...

Hi,

how can a maximum be +/- anything? It is either a maximum value or it isn't. I think you may mean the reserve that the manufacturer has around the maximum recommended setting, especially the + side of things, to keep things in a safe and reliable area. Some saws with cat./E-tech may have a minimum Max setting e.g. at least 13000 but not more than 14000 or whatever to make sure the cat stays hot enough to work (at least thats what I believe, could be wrong though).

I think...

Bye

Last edited: