61 to 272 mod

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hudsn63

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I know I just posted about a 51 but I also have another project I am working on. I have a 61 that toasted the top end and from what I understand the 61 66 268 and 272 all have the same bottom end so I ordered a new jug and piston for a 272 and am working on acquiring the rest of the parts (carb, air horn, air filter, muffler, intake, all gaskets and cover) But being I have never done this before I am hoping I can find someone who has. I have a few questions about this mod before I start
1. is there a heavy duty air filter kit for a 272
2. does anyone see any other parts I need or problem I may run into (I have a greytop 61 so its a one piece coil)
3. as long as im in there what other mods can I perform and what is the best ay to do them (exhaust and I have heard guys drill out the cover around the air filter to increase airflow)
4. I understand how to perform a squish check but am unsure with what to do with the numbers and how to calculate them to aquire the correct gasket
5. is the 61 carb the same as the 272 I see carbs listed on ebay and they are listed as compatible with the 61 66 268 and 272
6. where can I get a woods port done when I get to that point
thanks for any help I cut roughly 25 cord a year for my house so if I can make my saw faster and save time I would love it

also can I just put a 272 cover on the 61 lower unit rather then messing around with the greytop to get it to fit I found one online for 15 bucks and would rather just bolt on the 272 top cover unless for some reason that wont work

do you see any problem with running that air filter flow wise? I think there is a high flow kit for the 272 floating around and if there is that's theoretically what I would like to run