Acacia melanoxylon or Blackwood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

magnus

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
i am new to all this milling and looking for basic info for a newbie.

is it better to mill wet or dry?

what size planks are good to cut? limitations of warping etc?

any other usefull info regarding this species would be appreciated, i litterally have tons of it lying around my house.

thanks.

G'day Magnus.Welcome to the site

Suggest milling this one wet.........hard on the saw and chain .Cut it thick ,55mm minimum.Very prone to end splits.
What size logs have you got ? What saw are you planning to run.?...I am presuming it's a chainsaw mill your using.
Rip the bark off first.....as its like charcoal to cut .. Strongly suggest semi-chisel.....!!!
Naturally the nicest figured wood will be the knarly trees and crotch sections.Striaghter sections can be average but give a great finish.
Any hope of a pic or 2.
i have some in the racks i can pull out and show you tomorrow......but there can be a lot variation in colours with this variety
...the more tropical you are ....the more color.I mention that because yr location states the Azores.Sounds like you might have
some nice stuff with reds oranges and blacks ,predominating.
- Graeme :cheers:

Last edited:
Blackwood is best cut green , it is a pain in the ass to cut when it is dry , you will need to wear a mask with this stuff .

What size logs have you got ? What saw are you planning to run.?...:

will get some pics up ASAP.
i noticed there are both white and red trees, are these different species or normal color variation?

logs are average 60cm diameter, some 1 metre, some 30cm.

i will use a Stihl 660 and Logosol.

what is `semi-chisel`?

is the mask for dust or some odd toxin?

thanks for the great input.

will get some pics up ASAP.