Alpine Magnum

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ghoffman105

Reaction score
Have to say I am new to Stump Removal and a First Time Poster. Have been lurking for some time now.

I recently purchased an Alpine Magnum and I was looking for a little advice. I mainly will be doing jobs for my buddy, who has a Lawn Maintenance business. So most of the jobs I would say are smaller. I chose an Alpine because of it's portability; no need for a trailer, winch, ramps ect.

Today was my first grind. Sorry no Pics. The soil was rocky at best. Three stumps were removed, a 22" Oak (freshly cut), and two others not sure of species but were 14" and a 25" with some root chasing. I was on site for 2 hrs (not steady grinding) went through about 1 gallon of gas and the teeth are probably shot (I have a great set of trenching teeth now). Basically by buddy subbed it out to me for $250.00. Figuring $50 for teeth, $10 for gas (including truck to drive to location) I cleared $190.

Here are my few Questions:

1. Are there any tips/tricks to using the Alpine? - I had a little difficulty seeing my work. Should I stand more to the left of the machine instead of over top? I could feel the suction of the motor when doing that. Is that a problem if blocked with my body/shirt? When pulling through the stump the leg slipped through the dirt had to repositioned alot more often than I wanted.

2. Is it more benificial to have the pivot axis of the machine mounted at the Highest Position or the Lowest Position on the leg? What is the difference?

3. Suggestions for pricing out jobs?

Feedback/Criticism/Suggestions would be well apprechiated.