Asplundh Chipper Help - Manuals

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Warteetee

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I just picked up a 16" Whisper chipper this week. I am very new to chipping and this is my first attempt. The engine is strong and the drum is very nice and quiet. The problem is the blades are very dull. I am looking for the manuals to learn how to change the blades and what the settings should be to chip fast.

Also, I bought this 16" because I thought that it could handle a 16" log - is that case - if not, what size can this type of unit chew up? I am chipping hundreds of 40ft red pines - almost no limbs - just the wood.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

As a follow-up, this might sound like a dumb question, but the unit came with 28 brand new 12" blades - yes, 12" and not the 16" that should be on the unit. Given the way the wedge works, is it OK to center the 12" blades and use them on the 16" drum - leaving 2" on each side that has no blade.

16" drum with 12" blades? Possible? Potential issues (vibration?)

Thanks

First off this should be posted in arbo 101 or an equipment forum. DO NOT use a 12" blade in a 16" chipper, get the manual and the right blade. The blades must be torque to spec and set properly. If the blades are that chewed up the cutter bar is probably in bad shape also and needs to be serviced. That chipper will not chip a 16" anything. It is a BRUSH chipper. Meant for chipping up brush and tree limbs. There is no way to stop the material once it hits the blades so it needs to be the right length or the machine will clog up. 6" diameter at 15' long is a safe guess, experience and use will tell you otherwise. be careful, those whisper machines are very efficient and dangerous, they will eat in seconds anything that contacts those blades.