Bolt recommendation

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Erik B

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I have broken about 3 bolts on my speeco splitter over the years. It is the one holding the wedge to the ram. Size is half inch by 3 inches. I have been replacing it with a grade 8 bolt and it lasts for maybe 5 years. It is real easy to replace but I was wondering what others are using for that part. Is there something better than a grade 8 bolt?
Erik B

I'd say 5 years isn't that bad... Especially a bolt so easy to change...

I moved to grade 5 on my I&O and have had no problems.

buy grade 5 and it wont happen again most likely. Grade 8 is harder, so it can take clamping force better. But side loading, they have no tensile strength. Grade 5 will stretch. Grade 8 will snap

Sorry, but that's not correct. Yes a grade 8 is harder but its also stronger than a Grade 5.
A grade 5 will likely have already failed by the time a grade 8 is stretching.

Bolt strength is generally measured in tensile and shear. Look in the Machinists Handbook in the bolt charts for the numbers.... I don't feel like digging mine out right now.

If a grade 8 breaks, a grade 5 will certainly fail.

Edit.... welll... didn't see that link above till after. Explains with detail what I posted.

I also have a Speeco and have replaced my bolt 3 times. It's a pretty easy 2 minute fix. Do you wonder why they don't put a Grade 8 in it 1st? Do you really think it's to save a few dollars or maybe it is to save from a more expensive breaking point. I like to think of it as a shear pin on a snow blower or bush hog. Much cheaper an easier to fix a bolt than to fix a bent blade, auger or cylinder.
Treat yourself and put a new bolt in it every year on your Birthday.
I like to make an easy to fix weak point on most stuff I build.
Work smarter not harder.