Bradford Pears and pruning now

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garpa

Reaction score
Hi Guys...thanks for answering this question from a Landscraper guy...have 3 20 ft Bradfords..you know all too well about their branching problems in the crotch..b4 I lose them to a storm I was going to have them thinned....but after reading one of your posts here, it seemed that thinning in January is not a good idea?? I thought this dormant time would be ok but then I'm no tree expert like you guys...thanks for the advice

I assume no one is chiming in because nobody gets very excited about bradfords. These guys get a little too bogged down with the minutia and academia behind pruning to give a straight answer at times. I would say you are safe to prune them now.

Originally posted by TREETX
I assume no one is chiming in because nobody gets very excited about bradfords. These guys get a little too bogged down with the minutia and academia behind pruning to give a straight answer at times. I would say you are safe to prune them now.

Minutia and academia? Half the time we don't even get close to the common-sense contradictions embedded in pruning concepts.

I agree, any time's fine for doing anything, especially if you don't think it matters.

"Start 'em up, Harvey, we's got trees to prune...";)

Bob Woofalot

The biggest problem with them is the fire blight, so if you are cool enough so the bacteria is not active, then you are right about dormant pruning.

What did we say that made you think otherwise?

Just don't go hog wild and try to do all the work in one season. it is so easy to over prune small trees when making proper thinning cuts. That 25% dynamic mass is "no more then" standard for vigorous trees. On small ornimentals I usualy try to keep it to 10-15% so you don't get a huge flush of adventisouse sprouting right away. Or in laymens termas-suckers from heck.