Clutch and Sprocket help for sourced motors

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gunnarfan

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
So I'm finally starting to get some of these saw mods and repairs. I don't have the equipment to do half of them but i try with whats around. Anyways.. I'm pretty much self taught from this site and have had some pointers from local motor guys. In sourcing two stroke motors for use for converting to a saw are there any tried and true matchups being used for adding the clutch and sprocket onto one of these motors. I'm looking at going after some snowmobile motors, bikes carts etc but am tempted to frig around with this little old Kohler I have. Some of those motors have a shaft/key setup and are designed to drive a pulley..... So if someone is cool enough to give me the how I get from Point A to Point B or could recommend some shops/suppliers that would be helpful.

Basically what is going on here is that I had to sell my 111s with some other things to pay off wedding rings and help get started towards my wifes time off with the baby.

In searching around to console myself I ran into ozfleas copperhead 820 and was directed back to all things australian and mac-ish in the archives.

Another question... are people just going direct drive on these things for the most part and putting clutches only when the shaft matches up decent. I have seen some guys write about milling the shafts.. so the whole point of this thread is to clear that all up for me.

It's basicly "to each his own".
I have a friend that built a kx125, he milled the crank to accept a clutch off an 088 and it works great.
Romeo built me a kx250, and it is direct drive and it works great.
I don't know if a clutch for a saw would hold up to the 250, but I really doubt it.