Cold Weather Cutting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreePointer

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've been cutting firewood for the past 6 months and am hooked--big time! The weather is getting colder here in western PA, and there is still a lot of wood for me to cut (treetops from a small timber harvest). I understand the cold weather settings for my chainsaw, but I was wondering if there are any cold weather tips that you seasoned cutters might want to share.

Are there any temps that are too cold for a saw like mine (MS290)?
What about lighter weight bar oils?
Cold weather safety issues?
Other?

Thanks in advance for helping a newb! :newbie:

Last edited:
welcome to the pack

use winter weight bar oil. also be more care with your air filter maintenance schedule. sawz need to breath,cold air is thicker so beware. also take your time so you do not sweat yourself out, you do not want to get hypothermia. also if your bar has grease able tip. grease it every once in awhile. to make your chain last longer avoid cutting icy logs. if you can learn to cut right you will want a bigger saw then one more and the you have CAD:)

:givebeer:

I logged back in the '80s and we used to notice that the guys that would take their saws inside every night had more trouble. The constant freeze thaw cycle seemed to have an affect. I argued that the saws thawed out pretty good after using them for a while but the old guys said to leave them out at night. Also, our saws (Husky) had a hinged door on the wall between the motor and the carb. We would open it to let some heat into the carb. side. The air filter would get dirty a bit faster tho.
If your cold also includes snow, Put some duct tape on bottom half of the starter cover to keep snow from being suck in. The saw will get plenty of air for cooling with the remaining holes in that weather.