convert longwood forced air chamber to heat water for pex radiant floor heat in slab

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodwizard

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to site and looking to convert forced air wood burner to heat water for radiant floor. I have used this longwood furnace for 20 yrs. Like furnace but going to radiant floor heat cant afford $ for new stove. It will burn 5 ft logs 10 inchs in dia for 12 hr burn. have area above heat exchanger for 5 ft long and 18inchs wide would like to use tank or coils of tubing to transfer heat from forced air box this furnace has 175*F in forced air box any help or information would be great.

Last edited:
Neat project!

I am new to site and looking to convert forced air wood burner to heat water for radiant floor. I have used this longwood furnace for 20 yrs. Like furnace but going to radiant floor heat cant afford $ for new stove. It will burn 5 ft logs 10 inchs in dia for 12 hr burn. have area above heat exchanger for 5 ft long and 18inchs wide tank or coils of tubing any help or information would be great.

I personally can't help you with the design, but I am sure some of the wood boiler guys here will chime in soon. Welcome to the site. We like pics! To get the ball rolling, post pics of what ya got!

subscribed... i can't wait to see what some have to say on this.

I'm suspecting you're goign to be looking at a pump, a HX, and couplings to your pex. a basic thermostat may be needed as well to cycle the pump. some kind of expansion tank or pressure release in case things get too steamy... maybe some make up liquid....

Last edited:
Sounds like you're increasing your heat load, since it's tough to retrofit pex in an existing slab. LOTS more information needed. What were you heating before? What will you be heating in the future? Is the slab done yet? etc. etc. etc.