Crabapple issue? w/pics ( kinda )

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blakesmaster

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Had an Ho ask me about this tree. As you can see it's quite large for a crabapple and I'd hate to injure it in anyway. The leaves have been getting some dark spots on them, turning yellow and falling off. Seemed fairly common to me ( I always assumed it was the heat this time of year that caused it but I'm no expert when it comes to this stuff ) but the HO said it never happened before. A few smaller branches looked like they had lost all their leaves which did give me some cause for concern. Perhaps it's some sort of fungus? I thought maybe a rigorous pruning and some mulch would be a good idea. Perhaps just tell the HO to water it more this time of year? I'd just hate to start injecting anything into this tree just to make a buck if it doesn't really need it. Anyway, here's a few pics.

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

A few more, sorry about the poor quality. Any help is appreciated.

attachment.php

attachment.php

I would strongly recommend against a rigorous pruning...this tree doesn't have much left to work with.

The picture with your leaf samples do look like an assortment of fungal pathogens at work. But I would not be surprised at that. Not only are Malus sp host to numerous pathogens but, and correct me here if I am wrong, you have had a wet, warm spring. Ideal for those pathogens to become active.

I would take the fact that the homeowner says this has never happened before with a grain of salt. It is probably more noticeable this year. What you need is weather conditions that are no longer suitable for the pathogen to progress.

The other thing to consider is you are seeing the damage of the fungal pathogen progress now...not necessarily that the pathogen is still active, only the ramifications of it.