Credentials?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stihlboy088

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Credentials?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:confused: Hey, i've been doing tree work for friends and family for a few years now; just small time stuff nothing too big. I am a student in my second year at a local 2 year college earning generals toward a degree in forest management and i'm in my second year there. This past sunday i spent about 3 hours in a fairly large silver maple taking it down for my friends parents and dropped 3 large norway pines in their backyard. When all was said and done equipment was loaded in my truck and was driving back home i realized this is kinda what i really want to do (Tree work and Logging). i started climbing every thing in sight when i was around 10 months old according to my mother, and never really stopped i still rec. climb as often as i can and have been around chainsaws all of my life (started out with a bow saw and axe when i was 7 and got my first chainsaw when i was 13. i also come from a 5 generation logging and lumber based family started in sweden and moved to the states in the 1890's) I've looked into starting at the local tech school next year in a program specifically designed for tree work (Urban Forestry Technician) 4 semesters long and then going for a 1 year diploma at a college up in Minnesota for CTL and Mechanized Logging Equipment training. i think this would be my best bet in getting really started in the industry but i have every intention of going back to school and finishing the forest management degree+parents said they will help pay for a full four year but want me to be happy.(i think it may also be easier to do this class by class and keep a little coin in my pocket) so that later in life after iv'e had my fun i could relax and not break my