Cutting and drying cedar... need advice!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TSRuff

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I am going to be dropping a couple of cedar trees this weekend for eventual use as some patio furniture once it is dry. The trees are northern white cedars, about 36" wide at the base tapering to 30" where the main trunk forks. I've cut and milled lots of oak, maple, cherry, etc. but never cedar... so my questions are:
  1. What is the best method to saw this up? I can plain saw or quarter saw fairly easy out in the field. Knowing that this is headed for furniture I want to say quarter... but I have zero experience with cedar.
  2. I'm going to cut most boards at 5/4 but will also need some 4" posts for table legs, etc. I have a solar kiln I can dry the lumber in, but what is my dry time looking like for a 4 1/4" slab? Should I just glue up several 4/4 finished boards to achieve my desired thickness instead?
  3. I know cedar is soft, but can anyone give me a comparison on cut speed between cedar and oak? With my existing setup (3120xp, 42" bar, ripping chain) I am getting about 40-50"/minute in 26" white oak.

Thanks...

Our cedar on the west coast is different then yours, but not that much different.
Flat or rift saw it, quarter sawing allows it to brake along the growth rings. As far as drying it, be very careful not to over dry it or dry it to fast, as the cells will collapse. Cedar is very easy to air dry even in thicker slabs. Cut speeds for green cedar are about twice as fast as green oak. It cuts like butter.