deutz diesel

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsk

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey guys i was wondering if any of you have any expirence with the duetz aircooled diesel engines. What is the reliability and the parts cost of the motors. Is there any good online parts dist. Im more familiar with the cummins and cats. I have not head much about the air cooled diesels. What is the winter starting like. Thanks for any info that you can give out.

jason

I have had some experience with them in irrigation systems. They have been real reliable. They seem to hold up pretty well. They had a kill switch tied into the fan tensioner so if the belt broke it would(not) "fry" the engine. Not sure on the cold starting since we only ran these in the summer.

Last edited:
Ran a few carlton Stump grinders set up with the duetz, strong engine. Start OK in the winter here in VA 20-30 degrees is cold here, not sure about the colder areas. I put almost 1000 hours on the grinder I used and with regular oil changes and air filter service it was still a very strong runner. They had one blown up from lack of maintanence, user never cleaned the air filter and after 3 months :( the unit locked up, cost about 7k to replace it.

Last edited:
Deutz diesel engines were originally designed for long term operation use and low maintenance in third world countries, where there is a lack of spare parts sourcing. Many irrigation pumps, motorcycles, generators and welders are run by Deutz diesels.

I have run a deutz powered generator with kerosene in a pinch.

I have a 3cyl Deutz on a carlton stump grinder.Slung a rod at 262 hrs for no apparent reason. Needless to say I do not recommend them.