Double Powerheads??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodsrunner

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am completely new to chainsaw milling and am trying to learn as much as possible before I buy/trade for a new saw to mill with. I've been reading all the threads I can find by using the search function on the double powerhead question. Seems like none of those threads are recent. So I thought I would bring it up again. So here are my questions:

1) Is there any consensus on 2 powerheads on a chainsaw mill?

2) Has anyone here actually run 2 powerheads?

3) Why would the bar manufacturers make double ended bars if the 2 powerhead setup is no good?

I know Allan at Procut says no but I don't see any evidence to back that up just a statement on his website. (Not putting him down btw, just not sure I agree/understand) Then a member here (Railomatic) says yes and no (sort of depends on the post). I understand from his information tuning is very important to get a 2 powerhead setup to function correctly.

I also know some have said it is not cost effective but in my situation that may not be true. I have two 372's and one 385 and can pick up a new 385 to match my current 385 for about what I could trade for a 3120. Two 385's would probably be a lot more useable off the mill than a 3120.

I had originally made up my mind to trade the 385 for a 395 and mill with that and I probably will do that. I just seem to be hung up and curious about the idea of this double powerhead setup.

By the way my milling will be in pretty large hardwoods. 20 to 48 inches.
Red oak, white oak, walnut, cherry, chestnut oak, poplar. These would be butt cut offs from a timber sale I made this year and I hate to see all those big ol' cut offs get busted up for firewood.

Look forward to your replies.

Woodsrunner