educate a new guy on saw mills please.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ktm rider

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Ok, I'm not new to the site but i am new to the Mill section of the site. I live on a farm with PLENTY of large trees on my property. I recently read an article about milling your own lumber ( if you have the trees ). Well, now I am intrigued. I need some suggestions on what I would need to mill my own lumber for a nice horse fence around one of my fields. Other than the saw of course.
I don't want or need anything fancy, just something that will get the job done without breaking the bank of course... any suggestions????

Ok, I'm not new to the site but i am new to the Mill section of the site. I live on a farm with PLENTY of large trees on my property. I recently read an article about milling your own lumber ( if you have the trees ). Well, now I am intrigued. I need some suggestions on what I would need to mill my own lumber for a nice horse fence around one of my fields. Other than the saw of course.
I don't want or need anything fancy, just something that will get the job done without breaking the bank of course... any suggestions????

Questions
- How big (To some people LARGE - 30" ,to others they mean 60" diameter) are the trees
- What sort of saws do you already have
- How much $ are you willing to spend
- Do you already have a mill type preference in mind?