Equipment Maintenance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Who maintains your equip?

• I do basic maintenance(oil and grease).

Votes: 4 21.1%
  • I do everything on all my eqipment.

Votes: 8 42.1%
  • I have a dedicated employee who maintains all of our equip.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • It goes to a pro/shop for everything.

Votes: 2 10.5%
  • I do the basics plus bearing replacements etc. Pro does engine work.

Votes: 5 26.3%

• Total voters

Stumper

One Man Band
Reaction score
Spent yesterday afternoon replaceing a section of plate in the chipper feed chute. Made me wonder how the numbers break re: maintenance.

Well you see, NOBODY can do as good of a job on MY equipment as I can. It seems like most repairs come down to diagnosis/ remove & replace. Even if it is working on something where I have no experience, I can learn and address other things along the way. A mechanic might know exactly which bolts to remove to get to a certain part, but I might have to thoroughly clean the entire area to figure it out. Then I would check ALL nuts and bolts, usually finding a couple loose ones. I will also stop to reroute/tape rubbing or worn wiring, which a mechanic wouldn't mess with.
It might take me twice as long, but I usually feel better about the equipment afterwards.

I probably pulled the clutch assembly out of the old whisper chipper 8 times; really understood how to do it right by the 7'th.:rolleyes:

I do most basics but some stuff like I'm getting ready to put the 3rd generator in 2 years in my chipper? I don't understand what's going on with it. I'll take stuff to the shop but like to learn how to do it. I wish I had time to just go hang out at a couple different shops as a helper I would work for free.
I was watching the guy rebuild the gearbox on my 1 ton, looks easy enough if you know what order eveything goes in and how to get it apart.