Firelight vs Ideal Steel

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rfogg

Reaction score
Okay, I have been running an Jutol F600 no cat for 9 years now and I really do love the way the stove heats my house compared to the old steel stoves we had growing up. My problem with the Jutol is that in the 9 years I have had to replace the baffle plates twice at $160 for the set and I now have to replace the secondary air manifold for the second time for $300. I do not overfire the stove for the most part the airflow stays completely closed unless we are home and it is below zero. I load the stove right up as tight as I can pack it when I leave in the morning so that way I have hot coals when I come home 12 hours later and I don't have to restart the stove. I do the same at night. Maybe that is why I keep burning the baffles out.

Anyway I feel as though I am spending to much to maintain this stove with the way that I run it. So I am looking to replace it with something that will have longer burn times so I don't have too pack the stove as tight. I have been looking at the Ideal Steel from Woodstock Soapstone and was wondering what others have experienced. Will I get the same quality heat that I have been getting out of my Jutol without having to drop $300 into it every couple of years. Any insight would be great.

I'm sure you could sell the Jutol if your ready for an upgrade. There are many new stoves available, both beautiful and efficient.
-I've posted about our Vermont Casting Defiant before. Love the top load. We have always used the catalytic element but I guess it can be run without.
-But again there is some maintenance.
I would say we have spent a similar amount as you, averaging a hundred dollars, a hundred plus, a year on maintenance (per stove).