Gecko climbers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sine Metu

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So I'm in the market for a new set of spikes. I have been using a buckingham steel tree style gaff for about 3 years now, looking for more comfort. I have my eyes set on the gecko aluminum spikes with the European gaffs, I feel the extra angle will help with comfort as well as retain a longer length similar to the tree gaffs I'm used too. Any thoughts?

Also how well does that Velcro hold up? Will that last me a good set of years?

Finally a second runner up would be the buckingham titanium 2.75" tree gaffs, would it be wiser to go with these rather than the aluminum with the Velcro as is the gecko? I appreciate any insight offered.

Oh one other thing, if I were to buy the titanium buckingham spurs with the tree gaffs, could I also buy just the European gecko gaffs and bolt them right up? Or is gecko only interchangeable with gecko and buckingham with buckingham?

Last edited:
I've got a pair of Geckos. Carbon with the European spikes and the Velcro pads. They're great.
The only downside with the velcro straps I have found is that you get grass etc, that will get stuck in the velcro.
Other than that I have'nt notice any detariation on the velcro. I've bee using them for a while now...

just make sure when you come down from the tree that you close your straps up and put them away from sawdust and you will be good!!

I've had the aluminum Geckos for about 4 years now. Velcro is still in great shape. That was good advice about closing the velcro back up after taking them off, to keep out the sawdust and other debris. You can clean the Velco straps pretty well with compressed air if they get trashy.