Getting educated

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

morgan79

Reaction score
Hi tree climbers, I'm new to the Arborist blog, and am basically trying to find the best ways to become immersed in the recreational tree climbing world, which will hopefully eventually involve actually climbing a tree.

I'll put it out there plain and simple, I am a journalist working for High Country News, and am researching a story about the culture of RTC. I want to learn not just about the experience of climbing, but about the lives of the people who are really into this form of recreation.

Who are the different kinds of climbers out there, what got you into it, what issues do you have to deal with in order to climb?

I know from looking at some other blogs that there are concerns about the perception of ninja climbing, limits on permissions to climb in national forests and what-not. As a magazine that covers environment, natural resources, and culture in the West we no doubt want to learn more about the controversial side of climbing as well as the joyous side, but most importantly we want to get input from as many perspectives as possible.

Please feel free to check out www.hcn.org to see the types of stories we write and decide whether you'd be willing to share your knowledge. You can respond to the blog entry, or feel free to contact me at [email protected]

Thanks for your consideration!

Morgan

You can also check out my bio at www.moheimphotography.com

Last edited:
First thing you should do is check in with Harv "Ponderosa" Teitelbaum in Colorado, he can get you into a tree:
http://www.treeclimbingcolorado.com/

Next thing is, sign up for the 07 Rendezvous in Colorado. It will be a who's who in rec climbing:
http://www.treeclimbingcolorado.com/rendezvous.html

The fear on old-growth climbing is as follows: