had a fire last night----OWB

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

showrguy

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
hi all, i've been burning my OWB for 7 yrs. now without issue...
when i went to check it this morning i got i big surprise...
all the leaves around the stove were burnt up, about 12 feet up the hill and about 40 feet back behind the stove, also burnt around an outside 150 gal. diesel tank, a plastic kero can which was empty but now has a hole melted through it (glad it was'nt a gas can for splitter)..
backhoe was also close by........
it musta happened overnight, it was windy and very dry here in central Pa.
musta got a spark and the wind took it from there..never knew it..
i"m very lucky it did'nt catch the entire mountain on fire, as well as the 2 logging trucks of oak stacked beside the OWB waiting to be cut and split...
moral of the story...............keep leaves away from your OWB

Glad to here it didn't take off on you. I'm in the chambersburg area, many brush fires lately. A couple consumed a garage or two by local paper. Just yesterday they had three the largest being 40+/- acres. I've slowed down on my waste burning for the time being, calling for a chance of rain next couple of days. We need it!!!

Glad to hear you are ok. We all know we need to keep that area clear, I work at it but the danged leaves can blow back in after an hour. Don't beat yourself up. Anyway it's clear now...Lanny

Glad to hear you are ok. We all know we need to keep that area clear, I work at it but the danged leaves can blow back in after an hour. Don't beat yourself up. Anyway it's clear now...Lanny

thanks all,
no i'm not beating myself up, just wanted to pass the word..
really don't know why it burned out ?? glad it did though..
it would never have set my house ablaze, i have fibre cement siding and mountain stone on the outside...