Hello from East TN

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spots

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm hoping the off topic forum will work for a intro thread. I found this forum researching boots awhile back, and after checking it out I finally decided to sign up. I'm not a tree faller by profession, I just learned it from my dad. I got out of the Marines last year, and since then have been spending alot more time with my old man trying to learn. We use draft horses to do some logging, and have built several small (18-24 x 20-30 or so) log buildings, along with him building thebhouse I grew up in and my sisters house using timber from our land. I get together with him and practice climbing pretty often, and we have saved several thousand dollars by dropping some trees on the property that were threating buildings. We are a Husky family, running a 3120 xp, and a 371 xp for bigger stuff, and a T435 arbor saw for working up in the trees. We are pretty do it yourself, we garden and log with drafts, do alot of wood working and blacksmith work, as well as just about anything else that needs done. Anyways Im glad to be here, and hope to keep my mouth shut and my eyes and ears open and see if I cant learn alot from you gents and ladies. Thanks for having me guys

Heres a pic of me up in a small maple last Sunday. Don't laugh, I know its not much, but it was good practice.

20130728_175048_zps31214eaf.jpg

And heres our Belgian Big John pulling tater plow duty

2012-09-01_08-23-30_449.jpg

And just for kicks, a picture from when I was in on leave from the Marines with the old 3120

leavedec17th-jan6th055.jpg

Tapatalk ate my spelling.

Last edited:
Welcome aboard! You signed up a tad too late, we just had a GTG down the road from you at Terry Landrum's in Wartburg.