Help me choose a proper knot

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Murphy625

Reaction score
Hello,
I need help with choosing which knot to use for my application. I'm a newbie with this stuff.

We are pulling tree stumps on the farm using ropes and pulleys for mechanical advantage. I purchased 200 feet of Notch Kraken 5/8 rope (18,000 lb tensile), several 3/4 clevises, several snatch blocks, and tree saver straps... all rated for some pretty high forces.

We're using the farm tractor to pull on the rope.

So I learned how to splice a loop in the end of the Kraken rope and that worked out pretty good for the end of the rope at the anchor tree.. Then the rope feeds through my pulleys back and forth and then finally to the tractor where we use a clevis on the tow-bar.. Problem is, I can't figure out which knot to use to attach the rope to the clevis. We usually have an extra 50 to 100 feet left over so whatever I use, it has to work in the middle of the rope and I need to be able to move it after each pull. So far, my experience has shown that we make a pull and the tractor moves forward 50 feet or so, then we have to back up and adjust the tie-in point of the rope to take out the slack.

I tried the mid-line Alpine Butterfly knot and that sort of worked, but on our last pull it got jammed up pretty good and its going to take some time for me to get it unbound.. I'd rather not run into that problem again.

I also tried purchasing some 1/2 inch AMSteel Blue, which has a crazy high tensile strength.. I bought 6 feet of it and turned it into a Prusik Hitch. It was easy to untie and adjust, but I can see that its eventually going to melt and possibly damage my 5/8 Kraken rope. My Tractor weighs about 5000 lbs and working in our soil, I estimate it exerts about 3000 lbs of pulling force before the tires break traction and just start digging a hole.