Help with new Woodmaster

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JC31

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first post. Im new to wood burning and just installed my new Woodmaster 4400. This is a great site and you have all been a great help. The OWB has been in use for roughly a week and is great for heating. My problem is with the hot water. I have a Plate exchanger that came with the wood burner 20 or 30 plate? I installed a mixing valve due to young children. One problem is the recirc. line for instant hot water to fixtures will not siphon with the mixing valve I believe because of the check valve. I bypassed the mixing valve and it circulates as normal. The next thing is the exchanger does not produce hot water warm at best. I believed this was due to low water usage but I have run several gallons through the system to heat the tank, and still cant seem to get hot water. Also my wife said that when she took a shower this morning it started out hot and got cooler. The pipe on the outlet of exchanger seems to be getting very hot so this isnt making sense to me. I was thinking of adding a pump for DHW or maybe a side arm exchanger. Has anyone else had this problem or suggest a solution. And has anyone installed a mixing valve with a recirc. line. I would appreciate any input before my wife makes me turn the water heater back on. Hope this all makes sense, see attached picture. Thanks

Last edited:
That thing is way too complicated for me to figure out from a pic, but the cold water going thru the exchanger and hot water from the boiler must flow in opposite directions, or the exchanger cannot transfer heat fast enough to get the water hot.

Also is your water heater turned off or just turned down like mine. I leave mine on so I dont have to wait and waste a lot of water in the morning waiting for the hot water to get thru the heater.