Homelite XL Starting Problem - about to toss the saw in the garbage!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hunter81

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I was given a Homelite XL series saw. The carb is a Walbro HDC and has a date stamp of 1982 on the carb.The saw came from the original owner that gave it to me and is in pretty amazing shape giving the age. I've never had a homelite before and was told it was a great saw with very little use. I'm no newbie to the maintenance of the saws, but just never had a homelite before. It started hard and felt like the pully was slipping, but did start eventually after about 10 pulls over and over and that was with some good gas but the idle was at 100% even w/o your finger on the throttle and the chain wouldn't slow to a stop.

I replaced the plug and fuel intake line & filter , air-filter & re-built the carb with the walbro kit for the HDC, new pully & new starter recoil spring & now I can't get the darn thing to stay running if I can even get it started to begin with. The carb when I first got the saw had the LSN out about 3-1/2 turns , HSN 1/2 and idle about 1 turn out. According to Walbro it's 1 full turn out on all 3 needles.

Currently everything is set to right at 1 full turn out. First pull START...run approx 30 seconds die adjust carb , and nothing. Second try pull until your arm falls off and nothing, nothing , nothing and actually the new pully I put in started slipping just like the old one.