Homemade OWB (Picture Heavy)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doeber21

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm finally getting around to posting my OWB build from last fall. After finding a couple of scrap tanks from work i thought i would see how it turned out. I started the build on October 5th and lit my first fire November 11th. (Lets just say my girlfriend wasn't real pleased with me...) I tried to do the complete build with salvaged materials to keep cost to a minimum. The boiler is a tank in tank design with about 125 gallon water capacity. the fire box is 32" diameter and about 46" deep. All the steel in the build came from scrap piles. Knowing how we like pics on here i tried to take quite a few. I'm still learning to post pics on here, hope this works. Please post any questions or comments. Thanks

NCM_0780.JPG
Firebox welded to head sheet.

NCM_0781.JPG
Soon to be water jacket.

NCM_0788.JPG
Chimney Hole
NCM_0787.JPG
Door Frame

NCM_0790.JPG
Slid the water jacket on and had to tip it up.

NCM_0792.JPG
Aligning the water jacket.

NCM_0793.JPG
Water jacket all welded and stack installed.

NCM_0794.JPG
Inside view of stack.

NCM_0804.JPG

NCM_0805.JPG
Pressure test. Only a couple small pin holes, not to shabby.

More Pics. The door build. I spent a lot of time to get this right. I'm real happy with how it turned out. Its very heavy, all 3/8" sheet and 1/4" angle. No warping yet. I included a bunch of pics to show how i built the latch, hinge, and damper
.NCM_0827.JPG
Hinge in just a solid bar running through cut pipe sections.
NCM_0828.JPG
Might work.
NCM_0829.JPG
Hanging it just so it all clears.
NCM_0830.JPG
Air opening cut in and sided welded.
NCM_0831.JPG
Not just your ordinary fiberglass insulation. Ceramic hightemp used for packing around boiler piping.
NCM_0888.JPG
Door all welded up.
NCM_0886.JPG